[Wrap-up] Books read in February 2017

Once again another month is over (another month I’m happy to see go) and once again it’s time to wrap up my monthly reads! I read a total of seven books and two poetry collections this month.

My February reads:

img_7690

“Hold Your Own” by Kate Tempest
★★☆ (Review)

“Homegoing” by Yaa Gyasi
★ (Review)

“Human Acts” by Han Kang
★ (Review)

“Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe” by Benjamin Alire Sáenz
★★☆ (Review)

“The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet” by Becky Chambers
★ (Review)

“After Dark” by Haruki Murakami
★★☆ (Review)

“Bright Minds Empty Souls” by Jennae Cecelia
☆☆ (Review)

“Stoner” by John Williams
★★☆ (Review)

“Next Year in Jerusalem” by John Kolchack
★☆☆ (Review)

This was a great reading month! I finally got around to reading some of my most anticipated reads, such as “After Dark”, “Homegoing”, and “Human Acts”, and I’m happy to say to that I loved them. I also read some books I wouldn’t usually go for, or don’t read often, such as “The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet” (sci-fi) and Kate Tempest’s poetry collection “Hold Your Own”, and I really enjoyed them a lot more than I expected.

My top favorite book this month though is Han Kang’s “Human Acts”, a novel about the Gwangju Uprising, a violent student uprising in South Korea in 1980. It’s a brutal but amazing book and I’ll talk more about it in my review to come.

How was February for you guys reading-wise?

Author: AnnReadsThem

Books messed up my circadian rhythm.

6 thoughts on “[Wrap-up] Books read in February 2017”

    1. The Vegetarian is amazing, it was one of my top reads of 2016 too. Human Acts is very different and though it was very real and raw it was beautiful. Thank you, hopefully I’ll have my review up some time this week!

      Like

  1. I’m always amazed when I see people who finish 4, 5 or more books in a month. I usually finish 1, maybe 2 books a month, but since January up until recently, I’ve only been reading 1 book….and I’m nowhere even done yet!

    Did you enjoy After Dark?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. This is a lot for me though, I only started increasing my monthly reads maybe half a year ago. I saw someone say they’d read 15 books in February and that it was a bad reading month! That would have been impossible for me haha. And I did enjoy After Dark! It’s short and not what I expected, but I loved it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

