[Wrap-Up] Books read in March 2017

Time for another monthly wrap-up! This month I read a total of six books, three short story collections, and one poetry collection.

My March reads:

IMG_8484

“Nightmares and Dreamscapes” by Stephen King
★★★★☆ (Review)

“Frankenstein” by Mary Shelley
★★★★☆ (Review)

“The Handmaid’s Tale” by Margaret Atwood
★★★★★ (Review)

“Silence” by Shūsaku Endō
★★★★☆ (Review)

“Strange Weather in Tokyo” by Hiromi Kawakami
★★★☆☆ (Review)

“After the Quake” by Haruki Murakami
★★★☆☆ (Review)

“Milk and Honey” by Rupi Kaur
★★★☆☆ (Review)

“Nothing is Strange” by Mike Russell
★★★★☆ (Review)

“The Enemy Within” by Scott Burn
★★★☆☆ (Review)

“Gray Places” by Julia Byrd
★★★★☆ (Review)

I’m pretty pleased with this month’s reading! I loved both of my most anticipated reads, which were “The Handmaid’s Tale” by Margaret Atwood and Shūsaku Endō’s “Silence”. There weren’t really any big disappointments apart from maybe “Milk and Honey” by Rupi Kaur. I don’t know – I liked it but I far from loved it so I think I gave in to the hype too much and set my expectations way too high for this one.

I’m also pleased that I got around to reading books I’ve had on my TBR for a long time, such as “Frankenstein” by Mary Shelley. And I managed to finish the massive 900+ page short story collection that is Stephen King’s “Nightmares and Dreamscapes”! I wasn’t sure at the start of the month if I’d be able to do it, but I think I got through it so quickly exactly because they were short stories. You feel a different kind of commitment when you read them, if that makes sense, they’re just easier to read next to novels.

My favorite book this month was definitely “The Handmaid’s Tale” though. A great and horrifying dystopian novel, in my opinion. Check out the link to my review above if you’re interested in knowing more about it. It was also my first Atwood! I’m super excited to read more of her work now, I can’t believe I haven’t picked up anything by her sooner seeing as her writing seems to be exactly my thing.

What were your favorite reads this month?

Author: AnnReadsThem

Books messed up my circadian rhythm.

2 thoughts on “[Wrap-Up] Books read in March 2017”

Leave a Reply

