[Wrap-Up] Books read in April 2017

It’s the end of another month and time for yet another wrap-up! I read a total of ten books in April, of which one was a short story collection and three were e-books. As always, the reviews of my April reads are all linked below!

My April reads:

IMG_9548

“Swallowing Mercury” by Wioletta Greg
★★★★☆ (Review)

“Fever Dream” by Samanta Schweblin
★★★★☆ (Review)

“The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories” by Ken Liu
★★★★★ (Review)

“The Explosion Chronicles” by Yan Lianke
★★☆☆☆ (Review)

“The Queen of the Tearling” by Erika Johansen
★★★☆☆ (Review)

“Fahrenheit 451” by Ray Bradbury
★★★★☆ (Review)

“Rebecca” by Daphne du Maurier
★★★★☆ (Review)

“Void Star” by Zachary Mason
★★★☆☆ (Review)

“Areh” by Jeffrey Kinsey
★★★☆☆ (Review)

“20” by Vatsal Surti
★★☆☆☆ (Review)

This was a fairly good reading month, even though there were two 2 star reads and only one 5 star read. My favorite was by far Ken Liu’s “The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories” – such a brilliant, thought-provoking, and well-written collection. I absolutely loved it. This was closely followed by “Rebecca” by Daphne du Maurier, which was probably the one book that really turned out be an unexpected but fantastic read.

As for disappointments I didn’t have any high expectations or any expectations at all for the books I rated low this month, but I kind of thought I would like Bradbury’s “Fahrenheit 451” in a different way than I actually did, if that makes sense. I’m still a bit torn about my rating for that one but I think I’ll leave it at 4 stars.

Other than that, “Swallowing Mercury” and “Fever Dream” from the Man Booker International Prize longlist were completely unknown to me prior to reading but turned out to be very enjoyable, so that was a nice surprise! I’m also pleased to know that one of these two, “Fever Dream”, made it onto the shortlist!

What did you read this month?

Author: AnnReadsThem

Books messed up my circadian rhythm.

2 thoughts on “[Wrap-Up] Books read in April 2017”

  1. I read four YA books this April (A Million Suns, Shades of Earth, Before I Fall, and Heartless), one chick lit book (Rumor Has It), and two historical fiction books (Hotel on the Corner of Bitter and Sweet and The Dollhouse). The YA books were my favorite reads of the month. Next, I’ll be reading whichever of my library holds comes in next on the Overdrive app. How do you pick the books you’ll read next? Do you have copies of books waiting to be read at home, do you check them out at the library, do you follow a wish list, or is it just whatever strikes your fancy?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Sounds like a great reading month! I have a lot of physical copies at home, they tend to accumulate. I mostly just follow whatever strikes my fancy honestly. I do rank the books on my TBR, usually after what I personally consider my most anticipated reads, but I always try to mix in other books further down on the list.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

