[TBR] Plan to read in May 2017

A little late but here are some of the books that I want to read this month. It’s not much but it’s a start! Of course I hope I can add to this but May tends to be a busy month so, as always, we’ll see!

My May TBR:

IMG_9565

“Pachinko” by Min Jin Lee
This is definitely one of my most anticipated reads this month! I haven’t looked much into what it’s about apart from the blurb, but I’ve heard nothing but great things about this one. It generally just sounds like an interesting read. Also, (you can’t see it in the picture above, sadly) I had to get the hardcover edition, it’s so beautiful.

“The Master and Margarita” by Mikhail Bulgakov
Another anticipated read! This has been on my TBR for a long time now and I finally remembered to buy a copy – and I simply had to get the Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition because it’s gorgeous (there’s an obvious pattern when I buy books haha). I’m so excited about this one and I’m buddy reading this with the lovely Roxana over at Instagram! We’ve already started and I’m really intrigued by this so far! I’ve never read any Russian literature before and I thought it would be heavy, especially with all the footnotes, but it’s definitely not. Looking forward to reviewing this for you guys!

“The Unseen” by Roy Jacobsen
I already decided to read this while it was longlisted for the Man Booker International Prize but it’s been shortlisted since, which is great! Looking forward to it even more now! I’m reading this in its original language, Norwegian, since that’s my first language too. To be honest I rarely read books in Norwegian – I don’t read much Norwegian literature in general (hoping to change that) and I just like reading in English better. But I figured, if the book is originally written in Norwegian (and an English translation exists), I see no reason to get the English version.

“Six Stories” by Matt Wesolowski
Actually, I’ve already finished this one because it’s fairly short and I just couldn’t put it down! It’s such a unique crime thriller and I really enjoyed it. I’ll talk about it more in my review to come!

“The Final Empire” by Brandon Sanderson
I borrowed this copy from my best friend (who also let me borrow “The Queen of the Tearling” which I read last month). I’ve been wanting to read the “Mistborn”-series for a while and I know many people love this. I’ve started it (well over 100 pages in now) and I have to admit that it’s going slow. I just don’t find this world particularly interesting or fascinating, so I really hope it picks up!

That’s it for now but I hope I can add to my list of physical books! I also have one ebook so far that I want to get to, “Strange Medicine” by Mike Russel. Just like “Nothing is Strange” by the same author, this is another short story collection, and I’m looking forward to finally reading this one too!

Have you read any of these books? What are you planning to read this month?

Author: AnnReadsThem

Books messed up my circadian rhythm.

10 thoughts on “[TBR] Plan to read in May 2017”

    1. I know, it sucks when it’s like this! I’ve seen reviews saying this is one of the best books they’ve ever read so either there’s a really good plot twist in here or it seriously picks up. All I know is that I’m not really feeling it so far :/

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Same here! It’s very easy to read though – the narrative. I’ve given up on it for now and have decided to read Wind-Up Bird Chronicle instead. If you continue with it, please let me know if I should pick it up again in the future 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I also borrowed Mistborn from my best friend (who loved it). I didn’t love it and I struggled to finish it. I found the main character extremely stubborn and annoying, but not in a way that added anything to the story. Let me know what you think of it.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha it’s the same with my best friend, she’s also a fan of this series x) I’m about to start Book 2 but I have a hard time finding motivation to just pick it up honestly, I think this is an extremely slow start (reading about them planning to overthrow the empire is UGH, so boring) and I don’t find this allomancy thing very interesting either. I’ll definitely let you know how I get on with it!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

