[Wrap-Up] Books read in May 2017

How is May over already?? I feel like this month lasted about a week, but these late spring/summer months tend to be that way for me. Anyway, I read a total of eight books this month – of these, one was an e-book, one was a poetry collection, and one was a short story collection. As always I’m linking to my reviews in this post!

My May reads:

IMG_0296

“Pachinko” by Min Jin Lee
★★★★★ (Review)

“The Master and Margarita” by Mikhail Bulgakov
★★★★☆ (Review)

“The Unseen” by Roy Jacobsen
★★★★☆ (Review)

“Six Stories” by Matt Wesolowski
★★★★☆ (Review)

“Six Four” by Hideo Yokoyama
★★★★☆ (Review)

“The Last Kid Left” by Rosecrans Baldwin
★★☆☆☆ (Review)

“Stupid Flowers” by Brice Maiurro
★★★★☆ (Review)

“Strange Medicine” by Mike Russell
★★★☆☆ (Review)

This was a pretty good reading month with a lot of high ratings! My favorite was by far “Pachinko” by Min Jin Lee – such a beautifully written book through and through. It’s so rich on characterization, writing, historical facts, and emotional content, I recommend it to everyone! This is definitely one of my top favorites this year. “The Master and Margarita” by Mikhail Bulgakov is another favorite from this month. I’ve wanted to read this Russian classic for a while and it was a wild ride for sure! On a whim I also decided to pick up “Six Four” by Hideo Yokoyama, even though it wasn’t in my May TBR, and it’s a brick of a book but I devoured it. It’s a slow-paced and procedural-focused Japanese crime thriller but wow, it really had me hooked from page one. I’ll have reviews up soon! Other than that, both “The Unseen” and “Six Stories” were great and enjoyable reads.

As for disappointments, my biggest one was probably “The Final Empire” by Brandon Sanderson, simply because I couldn’t finish it this month as planned. To be honest I just find it really slow and not very engaging at all, at this point I’m not even halfway. I’ll give it another try this month (maybe? hopefully?).

What were your favorite reads this month? Have you read any of these books?

Author: AnnReadsThem

Books messed up my circadian rhythm.

16 thoughts on “[Wrap-Up] Books read in May 2017”

    1. I know right, that’s what I fear is gonna happen here in the end. I’d reached book 2 by the time I stopped and up until then was just a really long yawn lol I just don’t get what’s so fascinating or great about the world or the characters.

      Like

Leave a Reply

