[TBR] Plan to read in June 2017

Happy June, everyone! So May came and went at record speed and I guess it’s time to put together a TBR for this month. This is maybe the smallest pile that I’ve posted so far but I do want a manageable start and a couple of books are also e-books. Plus, I’ll probably be adding to the list as I go along.

My June TBR:

IMG_0358

“Oryx and Crake” by Margaret Atwood
One of my most anticipated reads this month and my second ever Atwood! I absolutely LOVED “The Handmaid’s Tale” when I read it back in March, I thought it was both relevant and brilliant, so it’s high time I get around to reading another of her books – and “Oryx and Crake” has been sitting on my shelf for a while. I’ve heard many good things about this one from several people but didn’t know it was the first book in a series until after I bought it. Apparently it’s a trilogy and even though I’m more of a standalone reader I’m excited about this. I’ve also heard many good things about “The Edible Woman” and “The Blind Assassin”, so one of these will probably be my next Atwood.

“The Elephant Vanishes” by Haruki Murakami
FINALLY I’m picking up another Murakami, I have missed his writings! I haven’t gotten to his newest short story-collection yet (“Men Without Women”) which came out in English last month, but I want to get through a couple of his older short story-collections first – and “The Elephant Vanishes” is one of them. I read “After the Quake” in March and while I liked it, I think this one will be much better. This is definitely another anticipated read of the month.

“Do Not Say We Have Nothing” by Madeleine Thien
I’ve been wanting to get to this book for a while and I know it has been nominated for a bunch of prizes, including Man Booker and Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction, so I’m really looking forward to it. The only other book I’ve read that was set in China was Yan Lianke’s “The Explosion Chronicles”, which wasn’t for me but that was more thanks to the writing style than anything. So I’m excited to give this a try, I think it’ll be interesting.

“Victim Without a Face” by Stefan Ahnhem
My dear crime fiction-loving aunt gifted me this book and I’m sure she’s wanting to know what I think about it so I’m reading it this month. This is a Swedish crime fiction and the first book in the series about criminal investigator Fabian Risk (lol that last name though, honestly). I’m reading the Norwegian translation and since it’s pretty long I’ve already started it, but it’s a rather easy read so I feel I’m progressing quickly. Not sure yet just how invested I actually am but I guess we’ll see once more stuff starts to happen.

That’s it so far for physical books, but I also have a couple of e-books that I’ve received through Netgalley. The first one is “Chemistry” by Weike Wang. I’ve already started it and I’m really enjoying it so far! I’m actually considering getting a physical copy of this one as I’d love to reread it some time. The other e-book is “American War” by Omar El Akkad, which I requested ages ago and had pretty much forgotten about. I remember seeing and hearing a lot about it a little while back so I’m looking forward to this one too.

Have you read any of these books? What are you planning to read this month? Let me know in the comments! 🙂

Author: AnnReadsThem

Books messed up my circadian rhythm.

9 thoughts on “[TBR] Plan to read in June 2017”

  1. I love both Oryx and Crake and Do Not Say We Have Nothing – hope you think so too! Oryx and Crake is part of a trilogy as well, so if you enjoy it, you’ll have even more Atwoods to add to your TBR…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed Onyx and Crake – and the whole Maddaddam series. Even though they are part of a series, they still read as quite self contained books in their own right. I hope you enjoy it! I also really want to read Do Not Say We Have Nothing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. So excited about it and I’m glad you enjoyed them! I love a series where the books can be read as standalones too. I hope I’ll enjoy Do Not Say We Have Nothing, I’ve heard so many good things!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Looking forward to your reviews of these! I haven’t read any of them yet, but Do Not Say We Have Nothing and Oryx and Crake have been on my TBR for ages. I got American War from BOTM a couple of months ago but still haven’t gotten around to reading it, and I picked Chemistry for this month, so hopefully I’ll get to both of those soon!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

