[Tags] Rapid Fire Booktag

Thanks so much Rachel for tagging me! I tend to be really slow at getting around to doing these tags though (I have the same tendency with Instagram tags too haha). But these are always fun so I really appreciate it! Thanks!

Question 1: E-books or Physical Books?

I always prefer physical books, but e-books are obviously really convenient for Netgalley and for most of the review copies I receive. I don’t actually own a Kindle yet though (planning on getting one soon) so as of now I read e-books on my phone and let’s be real: it’s a pain.

Question 2: Paperbacks or Hardbacks?

Paperbacks! Hardbacks are pretty and all but paperbacks are easier to carry around, easier to read in bed and basically wherever, and it’s easier to find a place for them in my bookshelf. I also can’t stand reading a hardback with the dust jacket on, I always have to take it off.

Question 3: Online or In-store Shopping?

I do most of my book shopping online because it’s so convenient (which is unfortunate for my wallet), but I definitely love in-store shopping the most.

Question 4: Trilogies or Series?

Trilogies. I very rarely read series and when I do I tend to prefer the ones where the books can be read as standalones (which isn’t often).

Question 5: Heroes or Villains?

I don’t think I’ve ever rooted for or been overly invested in a villain at any point in any book, BUT I do appreciate a well-written and complex one.

Question 6: A Book You Want Everyone To Read

“Human Acts” by Han Kang. Easily one of my all-time favorites.

Question 7: The Last Book You Finished

I’m gonna say “The Elephant Vanishes” by Haruki Murakami because I’m one short story away from finishing it and I will today.

Question 8: The Last Book You Bought

“The Woman in the Dunes” by Kōbō Abe, “Monsters” by Emerald Fennell, and “The Edible Woman” by Margaret Atwood.

Question 9: Weirdest Thing You’ve Used as a Bookmark

Before Book Depository (thank you Book Depository) I just used whatever was within reach, anything from leaves to rulers. I’ve also used another book as a bookmark lol.

Question 10: Used Book Yes or No?

Yes, however I rarely buy used books. I don’t mind them (though I’d very much like them to be in decent condition) but most used bookstores around here can offer very few books in English. Like, 95% of what I read are foreign titles and I’m just not interested in Norwegian translations at all, especially not if the book is originally written in English. But I would totally spend my time browsing a used bookstore if the selection was better.

Question 11: Favorite Book Genre

Magical realism and horror.

Question 12: Buy or Borrow?

Buy. I support all libraries, but again – English books. My local library has a really small English section so in the end I just buy my books.

Question 13: Characters or Plot?

Characters. Well-written and interesting characters can save any mediocre plot.

Question 14: Long or Short Books?

Medium? Ideal book length for me is around 400 pages, but if I have to choose one of the above then probably short books.

Question 15: Long or Short Chapters?

Definitely short. I check how long chapters are and it’s so demotivating if they’re crazy long. I recently read a book that told me I had 5 hours left in the chapter. That’s a year in reading speed for me, I get so restless and annoyed.

Question 16: Name the first three books you think of

“Mostly Void, Partially Stars” by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor, “The Tidal Zone” by Sarah Moss, “Dark Matter” by Blake Crouch

Question 17: Books that make you laugh or books that make you cry

Books that make me cry. Give me all the sad and emotionally moving books.

Question 18: Audiobooks Yes or No?

No. Sadly, I can’t concentrate enough on them. Podcasts usually work (depends on topic) but anything longer, like a book, is just going to end up as someone talking in my ear without me paying any attention. Or I’ll fall asleep.

Question 19: Do you ever judge a book by its cover?

Absolutely. I admit I am drawn towards beautiful covers (without me necessarily buying them for that reason), but design in general tends to determine whether or not I even check out the book in the first place.

Question 20: Book to Movie or TV adaptation?

TV-adaptation. There’s just a bigger chance for me checking it out right away. Unless I’m a huge fan of the book I tend to be really slow at dragging myself to the movies lol.

Question 21: A Movie or TV show you preferred to the book

I can’t think of any honestly. Generally I don’t really watch movie adaptations of books that much? The ones I have watched I always preferred the book or I thought they were both alright.

Question 22: Series or Standalones?

Standalones for sure.

I tag

The Sugar Cane Diaries, The Paperback Reader, Bookishaniket, and anyone who would enjoy doing this!

Author: AnnReadsThem

Books messed up my circadian rhythm.

5 thoughts on “[Tags] Rapid Fire Booktag”

Leave a Reply

