[TBR] Plan to read in July 2017

Happy July everyone! Hope you’re all reading great books! I’ve put together yet another TBR with some, in my opinion, exciting reads, so fingers crossed I can get through the list and maybe even add to it as I go.

My July TBR:

IMG_1176

“Hunger” by Knut Hamsun
This is one of the old Norwegian classics that I’ve been meaning to read forever. I haven’t read anything by Hamsun before, we never read anything by him in high school either, but we watched a movie adaptation of one of his novels, “Pan”, and the only thing I remember is that I thought it was kind of boring. Hamsun won the Nobel Prize in literature in 1920 for “Growth of the Soil”, but his autobiographical debut novel “Hunger” was controversial when it was first published in 1890. My edition is in Norwegian but I still hope the language isn’t too old-fashioned and hard to understand.

“The Redbreast” by Jo Nesbø
Another Norwegian book! I’m sure many of you are familiar with Jo Nesbø’s crime fiction series about inspector Harry Hole. I’ve read three Nesbø books but it was seriously a long time ago and I sort of just picked them at random. I’ve made it a goal to FINALLY read all the Harry Hole books in order, but there are 11 books total so I don’t know how long this will take me. I’m starting at book number three though, since I’ve heard it doesn’t matter much story-wise and that the first two books aren’t as good. I also wanted to make it a bit easier for myself! If I end up loving the series I can always go back and read them later. I’m excited to finally get into this but it looks like the book is a bit longer than I expected, so I really hope I can finish it within the month.

“The Edible Woman” by Margaret Atwood
I’m on an Atwood roll lately. This is her debut novel and one of my most anticipated reads this month! I’ve already picked it up, I’m well over halfway and I’m really loving it so far (despite all the weird typos). By the time I’ve finished this she’ll probably fully confirm her spot as one of my all-time favorite authors once and for all.

“Monsters” by Emerald Fennell
I’ve been seeing this book on my Goodreads feed recently and was intrigued by the cover, first of all, but also by the fact that the protagonists are two 12-year-olds and yet it’s not a children’s book (as far as I know). I haven’t looked very much into it but it just sounds really dark and fascinating. I’m super excited to dive into this one and see what it’s actually about.

“The Woman in the Dunes” by Kōbō Abe
This is a book that’s been on my TBR for ages and I’ve only just gotten around to buying a copy. From the first time I read its eerie and weird summary I knew there was a high chance this could be just my thing, so this is another one of my most anticipated July reads.

“Pitch Lake” by Andre Bagoo
This is a poetry collection that the author was so kind to send me in exchange for a review. It sounds very intriguing and profound just from the summary alone so I’m looking forward to reading this one.

I won’t list any e-books here this time, but there’s always “American War” by Omar El Akkad waiting for me. I wanted to get to this last month but didn’t have the time for it. Maybe this month, we’ll see!

Have you read any of these books? What are you planning to read this month? Let me know! ❤

Author: AnnReadsThem

Books messed up my circadian rhythm.

5 thoughts on “[TBR] Plan to read in July 2017”

Leave a Reply

