[Tags] #midyearbookfreakouttag 2017

The lovely Ally @the.imperfect.library tagged me over at Instagram for the #midyearbookfreakouttag, and I also saw that Bill @ Kenyanlibrary made an awesome summary with this tag last month! I liked the questions and thought it made a really nice little summary of my reads so far, so I figured I’d make a post on the blog too. I’m not tagging anyone on here right now, but if you see this and want to do it then please feel free!

IMG_1585

1. Best book you’ve read so far in 2017?

“Human Acts” by Han Kang. I’ve been raving about this book on Instagram every time I’ve had the chance so no surprises there. Please read this book if you haven’t already! “Kitchen” by Banana Yoshimoto, “Pachinko” by Min Jin Lee, “Homegoing” by Yaa Gyasi, and “The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet” by Becky Chambers are also high up on the favorites list.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far in 2017?

Every time I get a question like this I realize just how few series I read. That’s just preference on my part. The series I’ve read this year are ones that I’ve started and where I haven’t gotten to the sequel yet, but I’ve read “The Redbreast” by Jo Nesbø, which is the third book in his series about detective Harry Hole. I have skipped book 1 and 2, but this must count as a sequel.

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to?

“Men Without Women” by Haruki Muarakami is a release from May that I haven’t gotten to yet. I probably will wait for the paperback to come out though.

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year?

I’m terrible at keeping up with new releases, if I’m honest. My reads are usually all over the place and they are many so I tend to ignore upcoming releases. Most of the time I’m not even aware until after a book has been released and I see people talking about it.

5. Biggest disappointment?

There hasn’t really been any big ones, I think I’ve chosen my reads well this year. If I have to mention one then probably “Milk and Honey” by Rupi Kaur. I don’t know. I mean, – it’s not bad (I rated it 3 stars, which is good) but overall I just expected to feel more. I think all the hype raised my expectations way too high on this one.

6. Biggest surprise?

“Six Four” by Hideo Yokoyama. I devoured that book. For such a different, long, and slow-paced crime thriller I definitely didn’t expect to love it that much!

7. Favourite new author (debut or new to you)?

Han Kang and Margaret Atwood. I hope we get to see more work by Han Kang translated because both “The Vegetarian” and “Human Acts” were fantastic. As for Atwood – I’m on a roll at the moment, I’m currently reading “The Blind Assassin” and loving it. I’ve said it many times before but I’m beating myself up over the fact that I didn’t pick up her books sooner! I absolutely adore her writing and how diversely she writes across genres.

8. Newest fictional crush?

I don’t know about crush but I have a big soft spot for Victor from “Vicious” by V.E. Schwab, despite his questionable actions and his grey morality. I think, since I rarely root for the villains, it’s refreshing to have a character that is neither a hero nor a villain. And Schwab just writes Victor so well.

9. Newest favourite character?

I really love Rebecca from du Maurier’s “Rebecca”! She wasn’t even alive and she was terrible, but she was still such a well-written, twisted, and overall completely present character.

10. Book that made you cry?

I cry easily over books so there’s definitely been a few, such as “The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories” by Ken Liu, “Do Not Say We Have Nothing” by Madeleine Thien, and “Pachinko” by Min Jin Lee.

11. Book that made you happy?

The scriptbook “Mostly Void, Partially Stars” by Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor. I LOVE “Welcome to Night Vale” and it was fantastic to get back into the podcast this way. It was also great to look back on season 1 and where this brilliant universe with its fascinating characters started.

12. Favorite book to film adaptation you saw this year?

I haven’t really watched all that many film adaptations this year (I hardly ever do to be honest), but I guess it will have to be “A Monster Calls” based on the book by Patrick Ness.

13. Favorite review you’ve written this year?

I really liked how my reviews for “Kitchen” and “Human Acts” came out! “The Long Way to a Small, Angry Planet” also turned out well. Three books that I really enjoyed both reading and reviewing.

14. Most beautiful book you’ve bought (or received) so far this year?

No doubt the 50th-Anniversary Penguin Classics Deluxe Edition of “The Master and Margarita” by Mikhail Bulgakov!

15. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

Wow, there are so many! By the end of the year I’d definitely love to get to “Sleeping Giants” by Sylvain Neuvel, “It” by Stephen King (actually planning to read these next month…), and “The Accusation” by Bandi, but these are just a few.

And that’s it! I think this was a nice way to put my 2017 reads into perspective. How does your #midyearbookfreakouttag look like?

Author: AnnReadsThem

Books messed up my circadian rhythm.

9 thoughts on “[Tags] #midyearbookfreakouttag 2017”

  1. Yes! Haruki Murakami is my favorite new author of 2017 and his short stories never fail to amaze me. I picked up Met Without Women a few weeks ago, but have not yet gotten the chance to read it yet, given all the ARCs I’ve somehow managed to fall behind on!
    I prefer Lang Leav’s poetry a lot more than Rupi Kaur’s Milk and Honey, even though it seems as though Milk and Honey has received a lot more attention!
    Great Post btw! I look forward to reading more from you in the future Anne… Happy Reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yay, I’m so glad you’ve found Murakami! I did last year and have basically devoured all of his translated novels. I’m in the process of reading his short stories now. Definitely one my favorite authors!

      Yeah, there was/is a lot of hype around Milk and Honey and I get it, but it didn’t quite live up to for me. I haven’t read any by Lang Leav yet but I’ve heard great things, so I will at some point!

      Thanks so much! Happy reading to you as well ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh I like this tag! Great year you’ve had so far! Kitchen is an all time fave of mine and Bandi was so good (you’ll prob cry😂) really wanna read Pachinko and Becky chambers & human acts is sat on my shelf staring at me too ahhh xxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you! Kitchen is amazing, I really need to pick up more Banana Yoshimoto books. And I’m glad to hear Bandi was good (lol yes, I’ll probably cry)! Aaah omg I hope you pick those books up soon, especially Human Acts ❤

      Like

Leave a Reply

