[Wrap-Up] Books read in July 2017

I’m late with my wrap-up post again, what the heck. I had a bit of an Instagram break lately as well, so maybe that’s why this time. I have a couple reviews of last month’s reads just waiting to be written… Anyway, I read seven books in July, which was pretty good since I felt I wouldn’t actually be reading that much. Apart from one poetry collection, all books were novels. Reviews are linked in this post!

My July reads:

IMG_1605

“The Redbreast” by Jo Nesbø
★★★★☆ (Review)

“Hunger” by Knut Hamsun
★★★★☆ (Review)

“The Woman in the Dunes” by Kōbō Abe
★★★☆☆ (Review)

“Monsters” by Emerald Fennell
★★★★☆ (Review)

“The Edible Woman” by Margaret Atwood
★★★★☆ (Review)

“The Blind Assassin” by Margaret Atwood
★★★★★ (Review)

“Pitch Lake” by Andre Bagoo
★★★★☆ (Review)

My favorite book from July was definitely “The Blind Assassin”! Such an amazing, layered, and immersive read. I’m really enjoying Margaret Atwood at the moment, I have loved everything of hers that I’ve read so far and I’m sure this will continue. I also started my little Jo Nesbø/Harry Hole project and “The Redbreast” left me wanting to continue the Harry Hole-series for sure. I think the series will only get better from this point, too, so I’m really looking forward to reading more Nesbø. Hamsun’s “Hunger” was also a pleasant surprise – this Norwegian classic was really a lot more intense, deep, and interesting than I expected. As for disappointments there aren’t really any big ones, but I thought I’d end up rating “The Woman in the Dunes” higher than I actually did. I liked it but at the same time it didn’t quite live up to my expectations. Please check my reviews for more details!

What were your favorite July reads? Let me know!

Author: AnnReadsThem

Books messed up my circadian rhythm.

9 thoughts on “[Wrap-Up] Books read in July 2017”

  1. I loved The Blind Assassin! I have a love/hate relationship with Atwood, but it’s easily my favorite of her novels I’ve read.

    Favorite from July was obviously Human Acts, but I also loved Chemistry, King Lear, Final Girls, Eliza and Her Monsters, Six of Crows… I was all over the place with genres last month!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats for reading 7 books in July 😀 My fav books in July are “Heart and Brain: Body Language: An Awkward Yeti Collection”, “Saints and Misfits”, “The Edge of Juniper (The Juniper Series, #1)” and “The Names They Gave Us”.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. ‘The Blind Assassin’ is still on my list – I always enjoy Margaret Atwood’s works and the positive reviews make me hype 😀
    I have never tried anything by Jo Nesbø but if I read thrillers, they are mostly by Scandinavian authors, so maybe I should give him a try as well

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I can recommend The Blind Assassin for sure! I have honestly yet to come across a disappointing Atwood book. If you enjoy crime and Nordic Noir then Nesbø is one of the best in my opinion, I definitely think it’s worth giving his books a try!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

