[Tags] Goodreads Book Tag

Am I actually posting something else besides reviews on this blog for once? Well, I’m shook. I shook myself. I am shooketh.

Anyway – I came across this Goodreads tag over at Emma’s blog @emmareadstoomuch and thought it looked fun so I decided to do it! I joined Goodreads back in 2011, was kind of active for a while, and then academia took over, causing me to abandon reading – and the site – for ages. I think I only started properly updating my account again last year. For me, Goodreads is mostly a place where I can keep track of what I’ve read and what I want to read. I’m not active in the sense that I join in on discussions or post reviews, I just lurk and like and add, but I often check my shelves and I also like to keep up with what others are reading.

Alright, so enough rambling – here we go!

What was the last book you marked as ‘read’?

18586478“All the Birds, Singing” by Evie Wyld. I rated it as a very neutral 3 stars and I haven’t posted a review of it yet. Honestly, I’m not really looking forward to writing it up because this is the kind of book I’m not quite sure what to think of. It wasn’t totally “meh” but it wasn’t amazing either, and I really went into it without expectations but I still feel like there was some kind of expectation that wasn’t met. I don’t know? This book honestly just sits there in rating limbo.

What are you currently reading?

I’m currently reading two books, “House of Spines” by Michael J. Malone and “The Crowns of Croswald” by D. E. Night.

“House of Spines” is a book I saw on my Goodreads feed, it was published fairly recently, and I 35437703thought it sounded intriguing. I’m a little over halfway and I have to say I’m kinda disappointed in it, for me it’s basically been jumping between 2 stars and 3 stars since the beginning. There’s really nothing at all that gripping about the characters, the writing, the setting, or the plot, which is a shame because the premise itself was promising. I’ll finish it though, maybe there’s an insane plot twist at the end that’ll make up for the rest of the book (but that doesn’t save cardboard characters and mediocre writing).

“The Crowns of Croswald” is a middle-grade to YA fantasy book that I kindly received from the 34944590author in exchange for a review. It claims to have some elements reminiscent of Harry Potter (see, just that makes me skeptical), and I’m not very far into it yet but this does seem to be true. I received this book last month (very beautifully presented in a lovely book box) and I feel I should’ve made progress already, so my gripe with this so far is honestly the fact that I find it very hard to get into. But I’ll persevere; it has a fairly high rating on Goodreads so maybe, hopefully, it picks up.

What was the last book you marked as ‘TBR’?

17468561“The Moth” by Catherine Burns. I really should read more non-fiction, I’m absolutely terrible at picking up non-fiction books. If I’m going to read them though, they have to be interesting to me – I’d rather read about a historical event or a time period rather than a specific person, but if it has to be about someone then I’d like there to be a special situation or story connected to them instead of their entire life record (but of course, this depends on the person). “The Moth” seems like the kind of non-fiction book that could be of interest. I like stories.

What book do you plan to read next?

15739070“11/22/63” by Stephen King. It’s one of the books that I had planned to read next month anyway, especially since there’s going to be a read-along over on Instagram. It’s pretty big so I’m assuming I’ll use most of November on it, depending on how the read-along goes. I feel like this is one of the books I should’ve read ages ago already, I know a lot of people love this one. And it does sound very interesting. Time travel? Yes, please. Hopefully it’s easier to get into than “It” was.

Do you use the star rating system?

I do, I rate everything I read and my rating system on this blog is kind of similar to the one on Goodreads, in terms of what the stars mean. I may half star rate books a lot in my head, but for the sake of convenience I never really state my half stars in any reviews. I’d much rather force myself to either bump a book up or down one star, because to be completely honest? I’d get somewhat neurotic over all these loose half stars. I like my numbers to be without decimal points (lol I have minor issues, I am aware).

Are you doing a 2017 reading challenge?

Yes, and I completed it in May! Granted, I only put 40 books, making an estimate from how much I read Skjermbilde 2017-10-16 kl. 10.30.19last year, which was around 40. But I really, truly got back into reading this year, I surprised myself, so even though I never cared much about book numbers before I’m very pleased to see how much it’s amounted to so far. I didn’t change my challenge goal because I’m curious to see how many books I can surpass the original goal with.

Do you have a wishlist?

On Goodreads? Nah. I haven’t created any other shelves besides the default ones because I’m too lazy for that. But I do have a wishlist on Amazon if you want to have a look. It’s fairly updated and pretty similar to my TBR on Goodreads.

What book do you plan to buy next?

I don’t know, really, it changes a bit depending on mood and immediate need/want. 24861Sometimes I want to buy one specific book but when I sit down to order it I’ll change my mind last minute and buy something else. My book buying is very unstructured and I give in to impulses a lot. I also want too many books all at once but reason says I shouldn’t buy everything all at once. It’s a struggle, I’m sure most of you can relate. Lately though I’ve been thinking a lot about getting “Demian” by Herman Hesse. I’ve known about it for quite a while (never looked into it) but recently something brought it to my attention again and so I “officially” added it to my TBR.

Do you have any favorite quotes? Share a few.

Oh, do I ever.

“You fainted and I caught you. It was the first time I’d supported a human. You had such heavy bones. I put myself between you and gravity. Impossible.”
– “The Vintner’s Luck”, Elizabeth Knox

“He had looked at Jude, then, and had felt that same sensation he sometimes did when he thought, really thought of Jude and what his life had been: a sadness, he might have called it, but it wasn’t a pitying sadness; it was a larger sadness, one that seemed to encompass all the poor striving people, the billions he didn’t know, all living their lives, a sadness that mingled with a wonder and awe at how hard humans everywhere tried to live, even when their days were so very difficult, even when their circumstances were so wretched. Life is so sad, he would think in those moments. It’s so sad, and yet we all do it.”
– A Little Life, Hanya Yanagihara

“Why is it we have so little choice? We live like the lowliest worms. Always defeated – defeated we make dinner, we eat, we sleep. Everyone we love is dying. Still, to cease living is unacceptable.”
– Kitchen, Banana Yoshimoto

“So that’s how we live our lives. No matter how deep and fatal the loss, no matter how important the thing that’s stolen from us – that’s snatched right out of our hands – even if we are left completely changed, with only the outer layer of skin from before, we continue to play out our lives this way, in silence. We draw ever nearer to the end of our allotted span of time, bidding it farewell as it trails off behind. Repeating, often adroitly, the endless deeds of the everyday. Leaving behind a feeling of immeasurable emptiness.”
– Sputnik Sweetheart, Haruki Murakami

“Is it true that human beings are fundamentally cruel? Is the experience of cruelty the only thing we share as a species? Is the dignity that we cling to nothing but self-delusion, masking from ourselves this single truth: that each one of us is capable of being reduced to an insect, a ravening beast, a lump of meat? To be degraded, damaged, slaughtered – is this the essential fate of humankind, one which history has confirmed as inevitable?”
– Human Acts, Han Kang

“Flying is the safest mode of transportation. The second safest is dreaming. The third safest is decomposing into rich earth and drifting away with the wind and rain.”
– The Great Glowing Coils of the Universe/ Welcome to Night Vale, Joseph Fink and Jeffrey Cranor

Who are your favorite authors?

I haven’t organized this page on Goodreads but I mean, I can link you.

Have you joined any groups?

No, and I’m probably not going to. Like, I don’t even update my progress on my current reads. Like I said, I lurk and like and add!

I tag Rhianna @tsundokugirlreads, Rachel @paceamorelibri, Bex @thesugarcanediaries, Katie @whatkatiereadnextblog, Alex @coffeelovingbookoholic, and everyone else who reads this and wants to do it!

Author: AnnReadsThem

Books messed up my circadian rhythm.

8 thoughts on “[Tags] Goodreads Book Tag”

  1. yaaay, i loved your answers! 🙂 congrats on doing the challenge in may already! :O
    is there a possibility to be part of the readalong? i still have to read “11:22:63” 😀
    and thanks for tagging me! i already did that one, but i really appreciate it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much Alex! Sorry for double-tagging you, I must’ve missed your post. And yeah I’m pretty sure anyone can join in! @jobis89 is the one planning it though, so keep an eye out for updates from her 🙂 I only know it’s going to happen next month haha

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I agree so much about All The Birds, I just felt weirdly dissatisfied with it but I don’t even know what I was expecting? Like I guess it was well done, but it wasn’t quite right? It’s so bizarre. Also that quote from A Little Life destroys me ahhhhh. I feel like I’ve done this tag before at some point but I may do it again, if I’ve done it before my answers would have changed by now anyway.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Same! Like, if I could give it 5 stars for atmosphere alone I would, but at the same time, what even is this book? I’m disappointed in how it was executed but I’m not sure how to explain it. Haha it annoys me so much. And I know right, A Little Life as a whole destroys me ;~; Ah okay! Yeah it is a tag that changes with time ^_^

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ‘What even is this book’ just about sums it up ahahahha. It was just so strangely incomplete in a super frustrating way… I wanted to like it so much more than I did!!!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Exactly, it ended and I was just like “what”. But then I was also like “what” while reading, so. I really wanted to like it more too, it sounded a bit like my kind of read but this was way too vague even for my tastes.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

